Children

1 Kings 11:11-13
So ADONAI said to Shlomo, “Since this is what has been in your mind, and you haven’t kept my covenant and my regulations which I ordered you to obey, I will tear the kingdom from you and give it to your servant. However, for David your father’s sake I won’t do it while you are alive, but I will tear it away from your son. Even then, I won’t tear away all the kingdom; I will give one tribe to your son for the sake of David my servant and for the sake of Yerushalayim, which I have chosen.”
 
As parents we cannot control our children. We can guide them, we can teach them, we can offer advice, but we cannot control them. At some point we have to abandon them to their own choices and pray to Adonai that they will make the right ones. It is with that prayer and standing in the gap for our children that Adonai will honor us as He did David. David unlike any other man, except maybe Moshe and Abraham pursued righteousness and God’s heart. God remembered that even as He rewarded Shlomo for his failures. Lord forgive me for my rebellion against all that my parents have taught me and let me stand in the gap for my children as they come to know You more intimately. I ask this in Yeshua’s name, amen.

Leave a comment