Teach the children

Shof’tim (Judges) 2:10-12

When that entire generation had been gathered to their ancestors, another generation arose that knew neither ADONAI nor the work he had done for Isra’el. Then the people of Isra’el did what was evil from ADONAI’s perspective and served the ba’alim. They abandoned ADONAI, the God of their fathers, who had brought them out of the land of Egypt, and followed other gods, selected from the gods of the peoples around them, and worshipped them; this made ADONAI angry.

This is what happens when we as the adults fail to pass on the history of our people. Our children forget and, in the forgetting, go chasing after the profane to fill what is lacking in their spirit, a connection with ADONAI. Today we see thousands of religions and millions of self-professed gurus and prophets who only seek to enrich themselves lead tens of millions of our younger generations away from God for lack of our teaching our testimony and history and I say it is our shame that we have let that happen. Lord forgive me for not more zealously supporting Your Word in my life so those who are around me of all generations would know You are the only God I serve. Support me and strengthen me so I may do better in the days to come. I ask this in Yeshua’s name, amen.

Leave a comment